It is a good idea to wipe your personal data if you're selling, replacing, or trading-in your iPad or any iOS device. You can follow these steps to ensure that your data is wiped so no one can recover it:
1. Sync your iPhone with iTunes to back up your data (This way you won't lose your music, apps and contacts, etc, and can install them on a new device later on)
2. Navigate to Settings > General > Reset
3. From here you can choose "Reset All Settings" or "Erase All Content and Settings"
Reset All Settings will not delete your music, apps, contacts, etc., but it will set your iPad's settings back to their factory default.
Erase All Content and Settings will erase all your personal data from the iPad.