Why didn't my iPad's available storage increase after I deleted photos?

How to delete your Recently Deleted photos.

Deleting the masses of unwanted photos is usually one's first step when trying to clear up some storage space on their iPad. You figure getting rid of 500 photos should give you some room to work with, but why didn't your usage stats change after doing so? With iOS 8, the Photos app has a built in album called "Recently Deleted" to which all your deleted photos are sent for a 30 day period before being permanently deleted. The idea is that you might want to recover a photo that you accidentally deleted. However, while in this limbo they are still taking up storage space. You can expedite the process by going to Photos -> Albums -> Recently Deleted and tapping Select in the top right corner. At this point you can delete all of the photos at once or delete individuals by tapping on them and then tapping the trash icon.

How to delete your Recently Deleted photos.
How to delete your Recently Deleted photos.
Taxonomy upgrade extras: 

Add new comment

Filtered HTML

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.